close
Wilhelmer Gastronomie GmbH The Dry Gin & Beef Club
scroll
The Dry Gin & Beef ClubBerlin, 2024

Raw, pure and tasty

Exper­tises
Food & Beverage

The Dry Gin & Beef Club

Raw and pure – cultivated and demanding: potentially opposing characteristics that complement each other perfectly in Berlin’s Dry Gin & Beef Club. The balance between rawness and finesse is not only evident in the menu, but can be felt throughout the space: powerful, vibrant materials represent the interaction with fire, while botanical elements reflect the alchemical processes that go into an aromatically precise flavour experience. And all this in a place that could not be more ambivalent: AM TACHELES – an architectural jewel with an eventful cultural history: wild and unfinished – artistic and sophisticated. In our era of digital dematerialisation, we have created a real space that can be comprehended with all the senses.

Wilhelmer Gastronomie GmbH The Dry Gin & Beef Club  l1
Wilhelmer Gastronomie GmbH The Dry Gin & Beef Club  Sensory and physical

Sensory and physical

Once we were hunters and gatherers – today we are gourmets. A few select ingredients are all it takes to create a unique culinary experience. If Michael Wilhelmer had his way, only dry gin and dry-aged beef: a symbiosis of the spiritually ethereal and the naturally down-to-earth is the recipe for success of 2022’s restauranteur of the year. They now form the culinary backbone of the Dry Gin & Beef Club, and can also be experienced as a self-confident spatial statement.

 

Wilhelmer Gastronomie GmbH The Dry Gin & Beef Club  l2 1

The sensual journey begins in the bar, with a ceiling of fragrant botanicals and bartenders demonstrating their knowledge of arcane gins in front of illuminated, pharmacy-like shelves displaying over 600 varieties. The journey continues past the show kitchen, where meat is presented in a maturing cabinet and cooked in a flamboyant fashion in front of your eyes and ears. Flanked by two alcoves, this connecting area leads into the restaurant, where the restaurant’s specialities can be sampled in alcoves or at a table. Finally, there is a separate dining room that can be used for private events, tastings or seminars.

 

Wilhelmer Gastronomie GmbH The Dry Gin & Beef Club  l2 2
Wilhelmer Gastronomie GmbH The Dry Gin & Beef Club  l2 3
Wilhelmer Gastronomie GmbH The Dry Gin & Beef Club  l3
Wilhelmer Gastronomie GmbH The Dry Gin & Beef Club  Rough and natural1
Wilhelmer Gastronomie GmbH The Dry Gin & Beef Club  Rough and natural2
Wilhelmer Gastronomie GmbH The Dry Gin & Beef Club  Rough and natural3

In addition to the taste, the haptic qualities of the space are not neglected: the chosen materials emphasise different gastronomic qualities. While smooth surfaces such as polished natural stone and green wall tiles emphasise the clear, aroma-laden character of the bar and the bunches of hanging herbs and visible bottles transform this area into a kind of gin laboratory, the restaurant is characterised by rough surfaces with a great material depth: black, charred yakisugi wood, a ceiling with a structure reminiscent of a barbeque grill and a raw screed floor open up an archaic world that is both elemental and dynamic.

 

Wilhelmer Gastronomie GmbH The Dry Gin & Beef Club  l4
Wilhelmer Gastronomie GmbH The Dry Gin & Beef Club  l5 1

The leather upholstery of the room’s alcoves and seating benches round off the picture. In contrast to this, the cultivated plant theme runs like a recurring green motif through the 280-square-metre club: in the flowering display in the bar, as pressed artworks in the flexible separate dining room and as botanical wallpaper in the bathrooms. Thus the delicacy of nature combines with the rawness of flame to create a harmonious and enjoyable, all-embracing encounter.

 

Wilhelmer Gastronomie GmbH The Dry Gin & Beef Club  l5 2
Wilhelmer Gastronomie GmbH The Dry Gin & Beef Club  l5 3
Wilhelmer Gastronomie GmbH The Dry Gin & Beef Club  l6

Wild and cultivated

Gin and beef are served with a slice of Berlin’s cultural history: the bar and restaurant are embedded in the newly designed city quarter AM TACHELES – a vibrant cultural centre with an eventful past. At the beginning of the twentieth century, Berliners enjoyed a stroll through the impressive Friedrichstraßenpassage. Then in 1928, the monumental building complex became the popular House of Technology thanks to AEG. After the fall of the Berlin Wall, the building on Oranienburger Straße established itself as an underground arts and culture centre with an international appeal. Following its occupation, forced eviction and ultimate vacancy, the site was redeveloped from 2016 following a masterplan by Herzog & de Meuron.

 

Wilhelmer Gastronomie GmbH The Dry Gin & Beef Club  Wild and cultivated
Wilhelmer Gastronomie GmbH The Dry Gin & Beef Club  l7
Wilhelmer Gastronomie GmbH The Dry Gin & Beef Club  l8 1
Wilhelmer Gastronomie GmbH The Dry Gin & Beef Club  l8 2
Wilhelmer Gastronomie GmbH The Dry Gin & Beef Club  l8 3

Now new life, packed with creative possibilities, pulsates here – a fact that is also reflected in the Dry Gin & Beef Club. Between the poles of originality and subtlety, the genius loci continues in the interior, while emphasising the ambitious stance of the food offering. The pure yet sophisticated interior design consistently emphasises the (brand) image, which moves between true craftsmanship and artistic alchemy, pure flavour explosion and exquisite indulgence. It also precisely emphasises the expertise and passion for high-quality meat and exquisite gin – in this case, the most important ingredients on the ingredients list ...

 

Wilhelmer Gastronomie GmbH The Dry Gin & Beef Club  l9

Plans

Wilhelmer Gastronomie GmbH The Dry Gin & Beef Club  Plans

Facts & Figures

Client
Wilhelmer Gastronomie GmbH
Status
Completed (2024)
Photo­graphy
Philip KottlorzWilhelmer Gastronomie GmbH
Exper­tises
Food & Beverage
Team
  • David Schwarz
  • Jonas Wilhelm
Partner
  • WESENLICHT, Lighting Design
top

close
Wilhelmer Gastronomie GmbH The Dry Gin & Beef Club
scroll
The Dry Gin & Beef ClubBerlin, 2024

Komplementäre Komponenten

Exper­tisen
Restaurants & Bars

The Dry Gin & Beef Club

Roh und pur – kultiviert und anspruchsvoll: Eigenschaften, die sich keineswegs ausschließen, sondern im Berliner Dry Gin & Beef Club perfekt ergänzen. Die ausgewogene Balance zwischen Unmittelbarkeit und Raffinesse wird dabei nicht nur beim Blick auf die Menükarte deutlich, sondern auch im Raum spürbar: Kraftvolle und lebendige Materialien repräsentieren das Spiel mit dem Feuer, während botanische Elemente die alchemistischen Prozesse widerspiegeln, die zu einem aromatisch präzisen Geschmackserlebnis führen. Und dies an einem Ort, der ambivalenter nicht sein könnte: AM TACHELES – ein architektonisches Juwel mit bewegter kultureller Historie: wild und unfertig – kunstvoll und hochwertig. In Zeiten digitaler Entmaterialisierung schaffen wir hier einen realen Raum, der mit allen Sinnen wahrgenommen werden kann.

Wilhelmer Gastronomie GmbH The Dry Gin & Beef Club  l1
Wilhelmer Gastronomie GmbH The Dry Gin & Beef Club  Sensorisch und körperlich

Sensorisch und körperlich

Früher waren wir Jäger und Sammler – heute sind wir Genießer. Und für einzigartige Gaumenfreuden braucht es nur wenige Zutaten. Wenn es nach Michael Wilhelmer geht, lediglich Dry Gin und Dry Aged Beef: Die symbiotische Kombination aus ätherisch Spirituellem und naturnah Bodenständigem ist das Erfolgsrezept des Gastronomen des Jahres 2022 und bildet nun nicht nur das kulinarische Fundament des Dry Gin & Beef Clubs, sondern wird als selbstbewusstes Statement auch räumlich erlebbar.

Wilhelmer Gastronomie GmbH The Dry Gin & Beef Club  l2 1

Dabei beginnt die Reise der Sinne in der Bar, von deren Decke eine Wolke duftender Botanicals hängt und in der die Bartender ihre Gin-Kompetenz vor beleuchteten apothekenähnlichen Regalen mit über 600 verschiedenen Sorten unter Beweis stellen. Weiter geht es vorbei an der offenen Küche, in der das im Reifeschrank präsentierte Fleisch vor aller Augen und Ohren aufmerksamkeitsstark gebraten wird. Flankiert von zwei Alkoven führt dieser Verbindungsbereich in das Restaurant, wo die Spezialitäten ebenfalls in Alkoven oder am Tisch verkostet werden können. Den Abschluss bildet schließlich ein abtrennbarer Raum, der zudem für private Veranstaltungen, Tastings oder Seminare genutzt werden kann.

Wilhelmer Gastronomie GmbH The Dry Gin & Beef Club  l2 2
Wilhelmer Gastronomie GmbH The Dry Gin & Beef Club  l2 3
Wilhelmer Gastronomie GmbH The Dry Gin & Beef Club  l3
Wilhelmer Gastronomie GmbH The Dry Gin & Beef Club  Rau und natürlich1
Wilhelmer Gastronomie GmbH The Dry Gin & Beef Club  Rau und natürlich2
Wilhelmer Gastronomie GmbH The Dry Gin & Beef Club  Rau und natürlich3

Neben dem Geschmack kommt aber auch die Haptik nicht zu kurz und die gewählten Materialien betonen die jeweiligen gastronomischen Qualitäten: Während glatte Oberflächen wie glänzender Naturstein und grüne Wandfliesen den klaren und aromaintensiven Charakter der Bar unterstreichen und die abgehängten Kräuter sowie sichtbaren Flaschen diesen Bereich fast schon zu einer Art Gin-Labor machen, ist das Restaurant von rauen Oberflächen mit enormer Materialtiefe geprägt: Schwarzes, verbranntes Yakisugi-Holz, eine Decke, deren Struktur an einen Grillrost erinnert, sowie ein roher Estrichboden eröffnen eine archaische Welt, die elementar und dynamisch zugleich ist.

Wilhelmer Gastronomie GmbH The Dry Gin & Beef Club  l4
Wilhelmer Gastronomie GmbH The Dry Gin & Beef Club  l5 1

Die ledernen Polsterungen der gezielt im Raum platzierten Alkoven bzw. Sitzbänke runden das Bild ab. Im Kontrast dazu zieht sich zudem das Thema der kultivierten Pflanzen wie ein grüner Faden durch den 280 Quadratmeter großen Club: Nicht nur als blühende Inszenierung in der Bar, sondern auch als gepresste Kunstwerke im flexibel nutzbaren Séparée sowie als botanische Tapete in den Sanitärräumen. So verbindet sich die Feinheit der Natur mit der Rohheit des aufflammenden Feuers zu einem harmonischen und vor allem genussvollen Gesamterlebnis.

Wilhelmer Gastronomie GmbH The Dry Gin & Beef Club  l5 2
Wilhelmer Gastronomie GmbH The Dry Gin & Beef Club  l5 3
Wilhelmer Gastronomie GmbH The Dry Gin & Beef Club  l6

Wild und kultiviert

Serviert werden Gin und Beef mit einem Stück Berliner Kulturgeschichte: Eingebettet sind Bar und Restaurant in das neu gestaltete Stadtquartier AM TACHELES – ein vitales, kulturelles Zentrum mit bewegter Geschichte. Wo Anfang des 20. Jahrhunderts Berliner:innen durch die beeindruckende Friedrichstraßenpassage flanierten und der monumentale Gebäudekomplex dank AEG 1928 zum beliebten „Haus der Technik“ avancierte, etablierte sich der Bau an der Oranienburger Straße nach dem Fall der Mauer als alternatives Kunst- und Kulturhaus mit internationaler Strahlkraft. Nach Besetzung, Zwangsräumung und Leerstand begann 2016 schließlich die Sanierung des Areals nach einem Masterplan von Herzog & de Meuron.

Wilhelmer Gastronomie GmbH The Dry Gin & Beef Club  Wild und kultiviert
Wilhelmer Gastronomie GmbH The Dry Gin & Beef Club  l7
Wilhelmer Gastronomie GmbH The Dry Gin & Beef Club  l8 1
Wilhelmer Gastronomie GmbH The Dry Gin & Beef Club  l8 2
Wilhelmer Gastronomie GmbH The Dry Gin & Beef Club  l8 3

Nun pulsiert hier neues Leben voller kreativer Möglichkeiten – was sich auch auf den Dry Gin & Beef Club überträgt: Im Spannungsfeld zwischen Ursprünglichkeit und Feinsinnigkeit setzt sich der Genius Loci im Innenraum fort und unterstreicht dabei gleichermaßen die ambitionierte Haltung der Gastronomie. Denn mit der puren und zugleich hochwertigen Innenarchitektur wird nicht nur das (Marken-)Bild konsistent hervorgehoben, das sich zwischen echtem Handwerk und kunstvoller Alchemie, reiner Geschmacksexplosion und exquisitem Genuss bewegt. Sondern es wird auch die Fachkompetenz und Leidenschaft für exzellentes Fleisch und erlesenen Gin präzise herausgearbeitet – in diesem Fall bekanntlich die wichtigsten Ingredienzien auf der Zutatenliste …

Wilhelmer Gastronomie GmbH The Dry Gin & Beef Club  l9

Pläne

Wilhelmer Gastronomie GmbH The Dry Gin & Beef Club  Pläne

Zahlen & Fakten

Kunde
Wilhelmer Gastronomie GmbH
Status
Realisiert (2024)
Foto­grafie
Philip KottlorzWilhelmer Gastronomie GmbH
Exper­tisen
Restaurants & Bars
Team
  • David Schwarz
  • Jonas Wilhelm
Partner
  • WESENLICHT, Lichtplanung
top