close
Beiersdorf AG Beiersdorf Campus: Wayfinding
scroll
Beiersdorf Campus: WayfindingHamburg, 2021–2023

Connecting the Dots

Exper­tises
Wayfinding & Signage

Beiersdorf Campus: Wayfinding

Beiersdorf has been synonymous with innovative skin care since 1882. The Beiersdorf Campus, its new company headquarters in the heart of Hamburg, stands for interdisciplinary collaboration, innovation and the continued expansion of the company. We were asked to develop an effective wayfinding system to optimise the spatial experience at the new headquarters, in addition to our design of the work worlds and gastronomic offerings.

 

[Translate to English:] Beiersdorf AG Beiersdorf Campus: Wayfinding  The way we C.A.R.E.
[Translate to English:]

The way we C.A.R.E.

Beiersdorf’s employees were actively involved in the design of the new corporate headquarters from the very start – as well as in the naming of the buildings. The winning concept – The way we C.A.R.E. – is firmly rooted in Beiersdorf’s corporate strategy and values. It supports a sense of belonging and provides orientation for employees and visitors alike. The campus is composed of the following buildings: C.ONNECT, A.CTION, R.OOTS, E.MPOWER, X.PLORE (the latter is still under construction). C.ONNECT forms the centrepiece of the campus and serves as a bridge to the other buildings. It is the place where cooperation and innovation take centre stage, and this is where our guidance system was implemented.

The narrow, elongated building with its transverse wings required a clear system for labelling the different rooms and work areas. Our main priority was to ensure that everyone can find their way around intuitively and without hesitation. Starting at the main entrance, the letters A to E are assigned to the main segments, while the names of the intermediate segments are derived from their relationship to the main segments (AB, BC, etc.). The floors are numbered conventionally (from -2 to 6).

Beiersdorf AG Beiersdorf Campus: Wayfinding  l2

The orientation signs with their rounded corners pick up on the dynamics of the space. Pictograms designed by Studio BR, which act as a universal language to guide the way, emphasise Beiersdorf’s pioneering role in New Work and diversity. On the white storey panels, a small sign with a blue marker shows your current position. The panels give the impression of floating against the wall and of being as light and transparent as the architecture of the building.

 

 

[Translate to English:] Beiersdorf AG Beiersdorf Campus: Wayfinding  l3 1
[Translate to English:]
Beiersdorf AG Beiersdorf Campus: Wayfinding  l3 2
[Translate to English:] Beiersdorf AG Beiersdorf Campus: Wayfinding  l4 1
[Translate to English:]
[Translate to English:] Beiersdorf AG Beiersdorf Campus: Wayfinding  l4 2
[Translate to English:]
Beiersdorf AG Beiersdorf Campus: Wayfinding  A blue ribbon as the common thread

A blue ribbon as the common thread

There are two sign types for different levels of information in C.ONNECT: white signs and blue signs. The blue signs lead to locations where the brand is emphasised and to superordinate administrative areas. The white signs, in contrast, show floor numbers and room names, as well as specific services or room functions, thereby helping users find their way around.

 

[Translate to English:] Beiersdorf AG Beiersdorf Campus: Wayfinding  l5 1
[Translate to English:]

On the second floor, the Collaboration Hub, and on the office floors above, a blue ribbon snakes elegantly along the walkways, becoming the distinguishing feature or common thread in the signage system. The blue ribbon is designed in such a way that place markers can be changed and adapted if departments move. Both the interior design and the signage system are fully adapted to a dynamic work environment and equipped to react accordingly to future change processes.

 

 

[Translate to English:] Beiersdorf AG Beiersdorf Campus: Wayfinding  l5 2
[Translate to English:]
[Translate to English:] Beiersdorf AG Beiersdorf Campus: Wayfinding  l5 3
[Translate to English:]

Building a bigger picture – dot by dot

Different patterns of dots are applied to the floor. The signage system thus picks up on the shapes and elements of the interior design: Dotted and circular shapes can be found throughout the building, for example in the alcoves, the oblong niches, the acoustic panels and furniture. The dots provide graphical zoning and establish connections between corridors and room sections. In this way a visual flow is created as you walk past. Dots connect to form lines, symbolising movement, agility and the big picture: Connecting the dots one step at a time.

 

Beiersdorf AG Beiersdorf Campus: Wayfinding  Building a bigger picture – dot by dot1
[Translate to English:] Beiersdorf AG Beiersdorf Campus: Wayfinding  Building a bigger picture – dot by dot2
[Translate to English:]
[Translate to English:] Beiersdorf AG Beiersdorf Campus: Wayfinding  l6 1
[Translate to English:]
Beiersdorf AG Beiersdorf Campus: Wayfinding  l6 2
[Translate to English:] Beiersdorf AG Beiersdorf Campus: Wayfinding  l6 3
[Translate to English:]
[Translate to English:] Beiersdorf AG Beiersdorf Campus: Wayfinding  l7
[Translate to English:]

Facts & Figures

Client
Beiersdorf AG
Status
Completed (2023)
Photo­graphy
Philip Kottlorz
Exper­tises
Wayfinding & Signage
Team
  • Phil Burzan
  • Axel Knapp
  • Ju-Mi Lee
  • Maria Carmela Padol
  • Katja-Lisette Seger
top

close
Beiersdorf AG Beiersdorf Campus: Wayfinding
scroll
Beiersdorf Campus: WayfindingHamburg, 2021–2023

Connecting the dots

Beiersdorf Campus: Wayfinding

Beiersdorf steht seit 1882 für innovative Hautpflege. Die neue Unternehmenszentrale, der Beiersdorf Campus mitten im Herzen Hamburgs, steht für interdisziplinäre Zusammenarbeit, Innovation und weiteres Wachstum des Unternehmens. Zur optimalen Raumerfahrung am neuen Standort haben wir neben der Gestaltung der Arbeitswelten und der gastronomischen Angebote auch ein überzeugendes Leitsystem entwickelt.

Beiersdorf AG Beiersdorf Campus: Wayfinding  The way we C.A.R.E.2
© Hadi Teherani

The way we C.A.R.E.

Die Mitarbeitenden von Beiersdorf wurden von Anfang an in die Gestaltung der neuen Konzernzentrale integriert. So auch in die Namensgebung der Gebäude. Das Siegerkonzept „The way we C.A.R.E.“ orientiert sich an der Unternehmensstrategie und den Werten von Beiersdorf. Es unterstützt das Gefühl der Zugehörigkeit und bietet Orientierung für Mitarbeitende und Gäste. Der Campus besteht aus den  Gebäuden: C.ONNECT, A.CTION, R.OOTS, E.MPOWER, X.PLORE (letzteres ist noch in der Entstehung). C.ONNECT bildet das Herzstück des Campus und fungiert als Brücke zu den anderen Gebäuden. Es ist der Ort, an dem Kooperation und Innovation im Mittelpunkt stehen. Hier wurde unser Leitsystem realisiert.

Beiersdorf AG Beiersdorf Campus: Wayfinding  The way we C.A.R.E.1

Der schmale und langgezogene Gebäudeaufbau und die querliegenden Gebäudeflügel erfordern eine klare Systematik der Benennung aller Räume und Arbeitsbereiche. Die oberste Priorität lag darin, dafür zu sorgen, dass sich jede:r direkt zurechtfindet und die Wege intuitiv erschließen kann. Vom Haupteingang aus beginnend werden den Hauptsegmenten die Buchstaben A bis E zugeordnet. Die Benennung der Zwischensegmente leitet sich aus deren Beziehung zu den Hauptsegmenten ab (AB, BC usw.). Die Stockwerke wurden klassisch durchnummeriert (von -2 bis 6).

Bewegnung

Die Grundidee des agilen Arbeitens wird durch das Leitsystem positiv unterstützt: Flexibles, funktionales Arbeiten in unterschiedlichen Modi ist dann am besten möglich, wenn das Angebot der Optionen in eine klare Struktur eingebettet ist. Der Flur fungiert dabei als Ort der Begegnung und Bewegung – von Menschen, Gedanken und Ideen.

Beiersdorf AG Beiersdorf Campus: Wayfinding  Bewegnung
Beiersdorf AG Beiersdorf Campus: Wayfinding  l2 1
Beiersdorf AG Beiersdorf Campus: Wayfinding  l2 2
Beiersdorf AG Beiersdorf Campus: Wayfinding  l3 2

Die Orientierungsschilder mit abgerundeten Ecken greifen die Dynamik dieses Ortes auf. Die von Studio BR gestalteten Piktogramme, die als universelle Sprache bei der Wegeleitung unterstützen, unterstreichen die Vorreiterrolle von Beiersdorf in Sachen New Work und Diversity. Auf den weißen Etagentafeln zeigt eine kleine Grafik mit einem blauen Marker die aktuelle Position im Raum an. Die Tafeln erwecken den Eindruck, als schwebten sie leicht vor der Wand, so leicht und transparent wie die Architektur des Hauses.

Beiersdorf AG Beiersdorf Campus: Wayfinding  l3 1
Beiersdorf AG Beiersdorf Campus: Wayfinding  l4 1
Beiersdorf AG Beiersdorf Campus: Wayfinding  l4 2
Beiersdorf AG Beiersdorf Campus: Wayfinding  l4 3
Beiersdorf AG Beiersdorf Campus: Wayfinding  l5

Der rote Faden als blaues Band

Im C.ONNECT stehen zwei Schildertypen für verschiedene Informationsebenen: White Signs und Blue Signs. Die blauen Schilder führen zu Orten, an denen die Marke betont wird, sowie zu übergeordneten administrativen Bereichen. Die weißen Schilder weisen Etagen-Nummer und Raumnamen sowie konkrete Dienstleistungen oder Raumfunktionen aus und helfen, sich schnell zurechtfinden.

Beiersdorf AG Beiersdorf Campus: Wayfinding  Der rote Faden als blaues Band
Beiersdorf AG Beiersdorf Campus: Wayfinding  l6 1

In der zweiten Etage, dem Collaboration Hub, und den darüber liegenden Office-Etagen, folgt der „Blue Ribbon“ elegant den Laufwegen und wird so zum roten Faden im Leitsystem. Das blaue Band ist so konzipiert, dass sogenannte Placemarker verändert und angepasst werden können, falls Abteilungen räumlich neu verortet werden. Innenarchitektur wie Leitsystem sind auf eine dynamische Arbeitswelt vorbereitet, sodass in Zukunft auf Veränderungsprozesse adäquat reagiert werden kann.

Beiersdorf AG Beiersdorf Campus: Wayfinding  l6 2
Beiersdorf AG Beiersdorf Campus: Wayfinding  l6 3

Creating the bigger picture – dot by dot

Auf dem Boden sind unterschiedliche Punkteraster aufgebracht. Das Leitsystem greift dabei Formen und Elemente der Innenarchitektur auf. Punkt- und Kreisformen finden sich überall im Gebäude wieder, etwa in den Alkoven, den Langlochnischen, den Akustikpanelen oder dem Mobiliar. Die Punkte sorgen als Grafik im Raum für Zonierung und stellen Verbindungen zwischen Fluren und Raumabschnitten her. Im Vorbeigehen entsteht ganz nebenbei ein visueller Flow. Punkte verbinden sich zu Linien, stehen für Bewegung und Agilität und das große Ganze: Connecting the dots one step at a time.

Beiersdorf AG Beiersdorf Campus: Wayfinding  Creating the bigger picture – dot by dot
Beiersdorf AG Beiersdorf Campus: Wayfinding  l8
Beiersdorf AG Beiersdorf Campus: Wayfinding  l9 1
Beiersdorf AG Beiersdorf Campus: Wayfinding  l9 2
Beiersdorf AG Beiersdorf Campus: Wayfinding  l9 3
Beiersdorf AG Beiersdorf Campus: Wayfinding  l10

Zahlen & Fakten

Kunde
Beiersdorf AG
Status
Realisiert (2023)
Foto­grafie
Philip Kottlorz
Team
  • Phil Burzan
  • Axel Knapp
  • Ju-Mi Lee
  • Maria Carmela Padol
  • Katja-Lisette Seger
top