close
 Casa Mosaico de Belas Artes
scroll
Casa Mosaico de Belas ArtesPortugal, 2023

Form follows you!

Exper­tises
Private Residential

Casa Mosaico de Belas Artes

We firmly believe that a good party is born from fabulous guests with interesting stories to tell. Which is why strong characters, who fill the space with life and have fascinating histories, characterise this residential building in Portugal – a multi-layered collage, serving both as a private retreat and an open stage. The personality of its inhabitants is not only reflected in the individual design of the rooms, but also in the characterful and exhilarating arrangement of individual objects. We have opened up a scintillating kaleidoscope of scenarios, which are just waiting to be conquered.

Casa Mosaico de Belas Artes  Unique characters

Unique characters

Wherever striking personalities that at first glance appear entirely unrelated – be they people or objects – meet in space, exciting stories begin: new relationships are established, new correlations created and new energies released. It marks the beginning of a journey that promises unusual discoveries. This is the effect you experience when you walk through this house, with its around 650 square metres and four floors: It is a place for encounters between distinct and diverse impressions, yet somehow still maintaining a homogeneous whole.

Casa Mosaico de Belas Artes  l1 1
Casa Mosaico de Belas Artes  l1 2
Casa Mosaico de Belas Artes  l1 3

As if in an artfully composed mosaic, memorabilia from worldwide travels, archaic furniture, powerful paintings and sculptures, as well as lush greenery dominate the male denizen’s space on the top floor: Singing bowls next to gongs, next to marble tables, next to lamps from Mexico, next to furniture from Italy – objects, art and interior design coalesce to create a visually striking and very personal spatial impression. The female denizen’s study on the first floor equally forms a collage that transports you on a voyage of discovery, while retaining its own special character: Delicate in hue and soft in form, art, design and textiles are stylishly combined, creating a flexible framework that can change and grow with the occupant’s individual needs.

Casa Mosaico de Belas Artes  l2
Casa Mosaico de Belas Artes  l3
Casa Mosaico de Belas Artes  l4 1
Casa Mosaico de Belas Artes  l4 2
Casa Mosaico de Belas Artes  l4 3

Infinite spaces

The concept of layering and superimposition runs like a recurring motif throughout the building, constantly yielding new perspectives. Thus mirrored surfaces and cubes – some upright, some suspended – dissolve boundaries in the master suite, expand spatial relationships, and create a mysterious atmosphere arising from intersecting reflections. In the guest rooms, a collage of transparent, reflective and opaque surfaces creates a sophisticated tableau.

Casa Mosaico de Belas Artes  Infinite spaces
Casa Mosaico de Belas Artes  l5 1
Casa Mosaico de Belas Artes  l5 3
Casa Mosaico de Belas Artes  l6
Casa Mosaico de Belas Artes  l7 1
Casa Mosaico de Belas Artes  l7 3
Casa Mosaico de Belas Artes  l8 1
Casa Mosaico de Belas Artes  l8 2
Casa Mosaico de Belas Artes  l8 3
Casa Mosaico de Belas Artes  l9 1
Casa Mosaico de Belas Artes  l9 2
Casa Mosaico de Belas Artes  l10
Casa Mosaico de Belas Artes  l11 1
Casa Mosaico de Belas Artes  l11 2
Casa Mosaico de Belas Artes  l11 3
Casa Mosaico de Belas Artes  l12
Casa Mosaico de Belas Artes  l13

While in the double-height living room with its large dining area, individual layers open up new worlds and small narratives: Juxtaposing antique tapestries, contemporary (light) art, handcrafted furniture and classic-looking bronzes evokes an eclecticism that does justice to the occupants. Floor-to-ceiling shelves provide space for important family treasures, acting like a display case, skilfully showcasing a medley of books, art, antiques and artefacts. This representative floor also features a sculptural staircase that connects the entrance level with the garden level. In conjunction with a freshly created oval air space above the dining area, the effect is one of a light-filled, flowing spatial arrangement.

Casa Mosaico de Belas Artes  l14 1
Casa Mosaico de Belas Artes  l14 2
Casa Mosaico de Belas Artes  l14 3
Casa Mosaico de Belas Artes  l15
Casa Mosaico de Belas Artes  l16 1
Casa Mosaico de Belas Artes  l16 2
Casa Mosaico de Belas Artes  l16 3
Casa Mosaico de Belas Artes  l16 4
Casa Mosaico de Belas Artes  l17 2

Portuguese craftsmanship and modern culinary indulgence meet in the open-plan kitchen: An opulent ceramic tile mural, which was specially made in a traditional azulejo factory, depicts Frida Kahlo and forms the introduction to a new story that can be told over dinner with favoured guests. Different levels also overlap in the garden: While on one hand, inside and outside merge thanks to the continued flooring, on the other, small and large objects as well as dense planting frame the pool, and textile curtains protect against the sun and ensure privacy, but also reveal targeted views of the surroundings.

Casa Mosaico de Belas Artes  l17 1

Identity-forming diversity

The multi-layered diversity that can be felt in this collage-like arrangement in space is emphasised by a selection of carefully coordinated material compositions: White and green marble captivate with their inherent depth, textured fabrics provide a pleasant feel, structured surfaces create exciting accents, and strong contrasts such as raw stone with black parquet or onyx marble with cork never cease to beguile the wandering gaze. Complemented by high-quality details, precise melding and handcrafted elements, the many, very different individual components come together to create a harmonious entity that can be discovered and interpreted at will.

Casa Mosaico de Belas Artes  Identity-forming diversity
Casa Mosaico de Belas Artes  l18

Reflexive relations

Once again, this project reveals how we see our task as designing relationships between spaces, people and things, and rendering them tangible. All the characters become part of an overall narrative that can be told, read and explored again and again on many different levels.

Casa Mosaico de Belas Artes  Reflexive relations2
Casa Mosaico de Belas Artes  l20

Facts & Figures

Location
Portugal
Status
Completed (2023)
Photo­graphy
Philip Kottlorz
Exper­tises
Private Residential
Team
  • Manu Dhanked
  • Duygu Er
  • Gunter Fleitz
  • Jonathan Ihm
  • Peter Ippolito
  • Nikolina Muza
  • Eva Perez
  • Verena Schiffl
  • David Schwarz
  • Iryna Shapoval
  • Anna Theodossiadou
  • Eylül Özyar
Partner
  • pfarré lighting design, Lighting Design

Awards & Publications

Awards
top

close
 Casa Mosaico de Belas Artes
scroll
Casa Mosaico de Belas ArtesPortugal, 2023

Form follows you!

Exper­tisen
Villen & Lofts

Casa Mosaico de Belas Artes

Wir sind der festen Überzeugung: Eine gute Party lebt von spannenden Gästen, die interessante Gespräche führen! Starke Charaktere, die den Raum mit Leben füllen und ihre eigenen Geschichten erzählen, prägen daher auch dieses Wohnhaus in Portugal, das als vielschichtige Collage sowohl als privater Rückzugsort als auch als offene Bühne dient. Denn die Persönlichkeit der Bewohnenden spiegelt sich nicht nur in der individuellen Gestaltung der Räume wider, sondern auch in den charakterstarken und spannungsvoll angeordneten Objekten. Für sie haben wir ein faszinierendes Kaleidoskop an Szenerien aufgefächert, die nun erobert werden wollen.

Casa Mosaico de Belas Artes  Einzigartige Charaktere

Einzigartige Charaktere

Treffen markante Persönlichkeiten, die auf den ersten Blick nichts miteinander zu tun haben – seien es Menschen oder Gegenstände – im Raum aufeinander, lassen sich immer spannende Geschichten erzählen: Es werden neue Beziehungen definiert, neue Korrelationen geschaffen und neue Energien freigesetzt – es ist der Beginn einer Reise, die ungewöhnliche Entdeckungen verspricht. So verhält es sich auch beim Gang durch dieses Haus, das auf etwa 650 Quadratmetern und vier Etagen einen Ort für die Begegnung unterschiedlichster Eindrücke schafft und dabei doch ein homogenes Ganzes darstellt.

Casa Mosaico de Belas Artes  l1 1
Casa Mosaico de Belas Artes  l1 2
Casa Mosaico de Belas Artes  l1 3

Wie in einem kunstvoll zusammengesetzten Mosaik dominieren so verschiedene Erinnerungsstücke von weltweiten Reisen, archaische Möbel, kraftvolle Gemälde und Skulpturen sowie üppige Pflanzen den Raum des Hausherrn im Dachgeschoss: Klangschalen neben Gongs neben Marmortischen neben Leuchten aus Mexiko neben Möbeln aus Italien – Objekte, Kunst und Innenarchitektur verschmelzen zu einem imposanten, sehr persönlichen Raumeindruck. Auch im ersten Obergeschoss bildet das Arbeitszimmer der Hausherrin eine Collage, die zum Entdecken einlädt und doch ihren ganz eigenen Charakter hat: Zart in der Farbigkeit und weich in der Formgebung fügen sich hier Kunst, Design und Textilien stilvoll aneinander und stecken einen flexiblen Rahmen, der sich immer wieder verändern und mit den individuellen Bedürfnissen wachsen kann.

Casa Mosaico de Belas Artes  l2
Casa Mosaico de Belas Artes  l3
Casa Mosaico de Belas Artes  l4 1
Casa Mosaico de Belas Artes  l4 2
Casa Mosaico de Belas Artes  l4 3

Unendliche Räume

Das Konzept der Schichtung und Überlagerung zieht sich dabei wie ein roter Faden durch das Gebäude und eröffnet immer wieder neue Perspektiven. So lösen verspiegelte Flächen und Kuben – teils stehend, teils hängend – in der Master-Suite Grenzen auf, erweitern die Raumzusammenhänge und schaffen durch die mehrfache Reflexion eine geheimnisvolle Atmosphäre. In den Gästezimmern erzeugt die Collage aus transparenten, reflektierenden und opaken Oberflächen ein raffiniertes Zusammenspiel

Casa Mosaico de Belas Artes  Unendliche Räume
Casa Mosaico de Belas Artes  l5 1
Casa Mosaico de Belas Artes  l5 3
Casa Mosaico de Belas Artes  l6
Casa Mosaico de Belas Artes  l7 1
Casa Mosaico de Belas Artes  l7 3
Casa Mosaico de Belas Artes  l8 1
Casa Mosaico de Belas Artes  l8 2
Casa Mosaico de Belas Artes  l8 3
Casa Mosaico de Belas Artes  l9 1
Casa Mosaico de Belas Artes  l9 2
Casa Mosaico de Belas Artes  l10
Casa Mosaico de Belas Artes  l11 1
Casa Mosaico de Belas Artes  l11 2
Casa Mosaico de Belas Artes  l11 3
Casa Mosaico de Belas Artes  l12
Casa Mosaico de Belas Artes  l13

Und auch im zweigeschossigen Wohnzimmer mit großem Essplatz machen die einzelnen Schichten neue Welten und kleine Erzählungen auf: Das Nebeneinander von alten Tapisserien, zeitgenössischer (Licht-)Kunst, handwerklich hergestellten Möbeln und klassisch anmutenden Bronzen erweckt einen Eklektizismus, der den Bewohnenden Rechnung trägt. Ein raumhohes Regal gibt dabei wie ein Setzkasten ebenfalls bedeutsamen Familienwerten Raum und setzt das Konglomerat aus Büchern, Kunst, Antiquitäten und Artefakten gekonnt in Szene. Die repräsentative Etage wird zudem durch eine skulpturale Treppe geprägt, die Eingangsebene und Gartengeschoss miteinander verbindet. In Verbindung mit einem neu geschaffenen, ovalen Luftraum über dem Essbereich entsteht dabei ein lichtdurchflutetes, fließendes Raumgefüge.

Casa Mosaico de Belas Artes  l14 1
Casa Mosaico de Belas Artes  l14 2
Casa Mosaico de Belas Artes  l14 3
Casa Mosaico de Belas Artes  l15
Casa Mosaico de Belas Artes  l16 1
Casa Mosaico de Belas Artes  l16 2
Casa Mosaico de Belas Artes  l16 3
Casa Mosaico de Belas Artes  l16 4
Casa Mosaico de Belas Artes  l17 2

In der offenen Küche treffen schließlich portugiesische Handwerkskunst und moderner Genuss aufeinander: Ein opulentes Wandbild aus Keramikfliesen, das eigens in einer traditionellen Azulejo-Manufaktur gefertigt wurde, zeigt Frida Kahlo und bildet den Anfang einer neuen Geschichte, die beim Essen mit Gästen weitererzählt werden kann. Und auch im Garten überlagern sich verschiedene Ebenen: Während einerseits Innen und Außen durch denselben Bodenbelag ineinander übergehen, rahmen andererseits kleine und große Objekte sowie eine dichte Bepflanzung den Pool, textile Vorhänge schützen vor Sonne und sorgen für Privatheit, geben aber auch gezielte Ausblicke in die Umgebung frei.

Casa Mosaico de Belas Artes  l17 1

Identitätsstiftende Vielschichtigkeit

Die Vielschichtigkeit, die in dieser collagenhaften Anordnung im Raum zu spüren ist, wird dabei durch die Auswahl sorgfältig abgestimmter Materialkompositionen unterstützt: Weißer und grüner Marmor bestechen durch ihre Tiefe, texturierte Stoffe sorgen für eine angenehme Haptik, strukturierte Oberflächen setzen spannungsvolle Akzente und starke Kontraste wie etwa roher Stein und schwarzes Parkett oder Onyxmarmor und Kork lassen den umherschweifenden Blick nie enden. Ergänzt durch hochwertige Details, präzise Fügungen und handgefertigte Elemente entsteht so aus vielen, sehr unterschiedlichen Einzelkomponenten ein stimmiges Gesamtbild, das von jedem individuell entdeckt und interpretiert werden kann.

Casa Mosaico de Belas Artes  Identitätsstiftende Vielschichtigkeit
Casa Mosaico de Belas Artes  l18

Reflexive Relationen

So wird auch in diesem Projekt deutlich: Wir verstehen unsere Aufgabe darin, Beziehungen von Räumen, Menschen und Dingen zu gestalten und erlebbar zu machen. Alle Charaktere werden dabei zu Teilen einer Geschichte, die sich auf sehr vielen Ebenen erzählen, lesen und immer wieder neu ergründen lässt.

Casa Mosaico de Belas Artes  Reflexive Relationen2
Casa Mosaico de Belas Artes  l20

Zahlen & Fakten

Ort
Portugal
Status
Realisiert (2023)
Exper­tisen
Villen & Lofts
Team
  • Manu Dhanked
  • Duygu Er
  • Gunter Fleitz
  • Jonathan Ihm
  • Peter Ippolito
  • Nikolina Muza
  • Eva Perez
  • Verena Schiffl
  • David Schwarz
  • Iryna Shapoval
  • Anna Theodossiadou
  • Eylül Özyar

Aus­zeich­nungen & Ver­öffent­lich­ungen

Aus­zeich­nungen
top